The Walking Dead

The-Walking-Dead-Daryl-Dixon-1600x900-WallpapersHunt.com-

I freaking love the Walking Dead. I don’t know if it is because it is set in my hometown, or that it is nothing like the zombie norm that I have ever seen. I don’t want to say that I am intrigued by the drama but in all honesty, I am. I mean, Robert Kirkman is my hero when it comes to the comic books. Now, the show has even made me more in love of with the zombie universe that he has created. Let me take you through a few highlights of why I love the show and comic book so much… (SPOILERS!)

2492931-the_walking_dead_100_zone__026

Lucille'd_Walker

500px-Abe,_1

Okay, if you haven’t noticed already from all three of these comic selections from the Walking Dead, THE GORE. I mean, what makes Robert’s world of Walkers so crazy is the fact the humans are actually killing each other. If you’re asking yourself, “Why the hell would they want to kill each other?” Well, the answer is…

prison

A safe place to shelter themselves from the grotesque creatures that want to devour the innards of the human body. Everyone in the comic is always on a constant journey to find a home. Somewhere they can be safe and not have to worry about being killed by walkers. It seems like there is never a place that anyone can hide from these things. The reason being is that we all have the virus inside of us. So say, an elderly man dies of a heart attack, he doesn’t have any bites, and it’s all from natural causes. He will still turn into one of the walking dead. It’s almost an endless battle to survive because once we kill each other, we just come back to life ready to rip a jugular from our enemies throat. It’s freaking insane!!

Rick_Grimes

 

Rick Grimes is the main protagonist in this story and the Walking Dead staff, producers, and directors did it right when they cast Andrew Lincoln. I mean, how could you go wrong with an actor with a British accent. Andrew plays the role perfectly. A sheriff trying to find his family in the midst of an ever growing apocalypse. He has to face a lot of challenges along the way, but he some how gets through them with his wit and survival skills. 

He also seems to be the only one that actually DOES WHAT NEEDS TO BE DONE TO SURVIVE! If you watch the show or read the comics, he is the only character that actually puts his group before anyone else. Except his son and wife of course. Them two are his main concern. He kills his best friend, he locates safe places and forces his group to keep moving on, he also has a knack from running into weird characters on the road.

There are so many things that I could write that explain how awesome this story is but it all is going to still come down to the things I have already written. The virus being inside us already, the character drama, and just the casting. The casting was almost spot on with every character. I would suggest at least checking out the show if not the comic book. Both have different story lines but they are both very fun and interesting. I know Nadine and I make it a point to have the show recorded or be off work during the marathons on television.

Just remember, “Kill the Dead, Fear the Living.” quoted by Rick Grimes. Be safe!

4 thoughts on “The Walking Dead

  1. I loved the first three seasons of The Walking Dead. Finally a shoe about zombies that wasn’t really about the zombies but about the lives, relationships and struggles of a wonderful set of characters. There was gore, but it was secondary to the story. Then the first episode of season four happened. It was like AMC had received complaints about the lessening gore in season three so made up for it all in one episode. I couldn’t watch it after that. I was far too grossed out. Also The Partner pretended to be a walker when I thought I was home alone and it’s kind of put me off zombies :S

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I think the whole Laurie getting eaten by a walker and Rick looking at the pot belly walker with Laurie’s hair hanging out was a bit over the top. I think I burst out laughing over that only because it was the most ridiculous thing I had ever seen. lol I feel like they may have went over the top with gore in season 4 because it kind of pulled away from the story they had developed in the first three seasons. But honestly, I like my doses of episode gore every once in a while.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I can’t believe I’ve found another Walking Dead fan….I did a search a couple days back and got nothing…….Now here you are! I’ve never checked out the comics, but I dread the months between seasons. We only have a little over a month now!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know!!! I’m so excited! I think the 6 month wait between seasons is almost as bad as the 2-3 month wait at mid season. I’ve been trying to get my name I’m there to be a walker but I think at this point I’m too healthy looking to get in lol I know we’ll have a lot to discuss when it gets here Tammi! Glad to find someone else who likes it on here as much as I do. Thanks

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

