The Impact of People

Guess who is finally awake?! Me! 

I had to close at work last night. It was pretty busy. A lot of people coming in to buy the last of the buy one, get one free mixed fruit. I will say, I don’t know if anyone except the people who actually have to cut this stuff up really know how much work is involved in making these bowls. Here’s the recipe: 1/4 of cantaloupe, 1/4 of watermelon, 1/4 of honeydew, 2 pineapple chunks, three red/ white seedless grapes, 2 strawberry slices. This is just for the small mixed fruit. Medium, large, and extra large bowls are double, triple, and quadruple those ingredients. So now that we have the ingredients, we have to forecast these suckers on a sheet of paper. We ended up having to cut almost 100-200 of these bowls a day, excluding the large and x-large. Those were only 8-10 bowls. It can be a rough job, but I think that cutting fruit is the most relaxing part of it. I usually enjoy doing this only because it’s relaxing to just chop away all day.

Anyways, last night I watched the result show to America’s Got Talent with Nadine and I’m extremely happy with a few of the results. They say that everyone has a talent, which in theory is true, but my talent, I would like to think is writing. I can play music too, but it has been so long since I’ve been on a stage or even picked up a guitar, I don’t know if I still have the skill set.

1916925_1200092759475_6453344_n

I miss those days. It feels like it was only yesterday I was choking on the smoke in the front row, while I was trying to sing. I also miss my lead guitarist who is currently in Korean. He has always been my best friend since we ran into each other in high school, became music buddies, and now, he will be my best man at my wedding( whenever that may be.) Luke is an awesome guy with a lot of talent, who is serving in the Army, and it’s an honor to know someone like him.

cover

I’d like to say this is the cover of my book. It’s already out. You can find it on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and Lulu.com’s websites. I haven’t talked much about it because I’m not wanting to use this blog as an advertising tool. I just know I’ve had a few people emailing me about this “Book” I have lingering in the digital world.

I know I don’t talk much about Nadine, but I have to say she is an amazing woman. She keeps my spirits up when I’m down. She supports me in whatever venture I want to take in my life. We’ve been together for four wonderful years, yes we have had those few fights, but we always pull out of it. There hasn’t been a day, where I couldn’t see myself not being with her. I remember meeting her in a pizza parlor when I was performing in a band. I didn’t want to go out that night because I was just going through some stupid crap in my head. My buddy Luke convinced me though. I headed out to the pizza place with my drummer, Garrett, at the time (We’ll get to him in another post.) I arrived there and saw Nadine sitting with her aunt and her cousin. (I knew her aunt and cousin so I was texting them throughout the whole night.)

Honestly, it’s tough to say exactly what was going through my head at that moment, I just knew that I wanted to know this girl. I wanted to be able to hold her hand, or at least have a nice conversation with her. I remember it took a while for me to get the courage to talk to her. I was a bit of a shy guy. I actually thought she was more into Garrett because they were talking a decent amount. I think I told her about that and she said “Um no, he is way too young.” Anyways, I performed that night, I met Nadine, and asked her out on a date. 

There’s many things that happen in life that you don’t understand why. Sometimes it could be the death of a family member, or simply running into a new best friend that has had a huge impact on your life. I’ve also come to realize that for some reason we live in a very small world, where everyone seems to connect on different levels. If I hadn’t of met Luke and Nadine, I don’t know where I would be at right now. 

I met Luke in high school, we created a band, he knew Nadine’s aunt and cousin, I met Nadine, and somehow this has been the longest lasting relationship I have ever had. Is there a higher being that pulls everyone together for a reason, or is our life written spontaneously as we live it? I don’t know which is true, but I like to think that my life is being written by me, not by someone else. I don’t want to shoot down anyone’s theories, but we make up our own future, our own dreams, and our own destiny. That is the beauty of being alive, the old and the new.

10334285_10152436021032692_2207510416983056479_n

Leave a Reply

