The Secrets in the Classrooms

I read an article today online about a nine year old girl getting suspended from school because she shaved her head bald. I’ll explain why in a moment she shaved her head bald, but I’d like to say this is an absurd reason to suspend a child. I remember teachers always telling us to be unique and to not run with the sheep. Try to be the odd ball out of the crowd. So what does this mean for society today? Are we now trying to create a society that thinks, walks, and dresses the same? 

I understand why schools have a dress code. It’s to keep from having distractions in the classroom. Okay, maybe it was a distraction at first to shave her head, but I want to think a little deeper into why she did this. Why would a little girl all of a sudden decide, “Hey, I think I’m going to hack off my beautiful locks of hair today?” Is it because she wanted to be different from the crowd? Is it because she was rebelling against the system? Or was it because she simply just thought it was the “in” thing for fashion? Well, the answer is no to all of these. In fact, the reason was more beautiful than what I thought her reasoning behind it was.

She did it for her friend who is also a young girl. Her friend is twelve years old and was diagnosed with cancer a few years ago. She is bald because of the chemo therapy she’s been undergoing. Her nine year old friend decided to shave her head because she wanted her friend to know it’s okay. She wanted her to feel welcomed with open arms. I know people may not understand this, but when you’re young and dumb, you don’t understand anything about cancer, and a bully could potentially make fun of you for a stupid reason like not having any hair. It maybe because schools are too caught up in suspending kids for dress codes, or twisting the kids arms to their will so they can make a point to everyone. What are we doing now? Are we actually teaching kids about anything anymore? 

I’m going to go a little off subject here and say that the school system to me is horse crap. I remember being in kindergarten, and I was in special ed for that year. I will say, I met some great friends in that class. Kids I will never forget. Even ones that are no longer with us because of diseases they had. It was always a sad thing to think about. I even had an extremely abusive teacher that beat kids in the bathroom, whenever they messed their pants. You could hear her behind the bathroom door, and the child screaming and the whips slapping hard against their bottom. I didn’t understand any of this when I was young because I thought it was what teachers did to you when you disobeyed them. I remember crossing her once.

We were running on the track outside, and I was trying to catch up with one of my friends that was in the other class. (We had to walk around the track as a group or we got in trouble for passing the teachers) So I ran past my teacher, and she screamed at me. It was almost like I committed a heinous crime! She wrenched my arm back and scowled me for passing her on the track. It hurt at first, but I was scared to tell my parents. Well, anyone for that matter because I didn’t want to be another victim in the bathroom. I think the teacher’s name was Ms. Moody. I don’t care about protecting her name anymore because she really scarred a piece of my childhood that I can never have back.

I think the one time that scared me the most was when I wasn’t feeling too well, and my mom came by the school to drop off some cupcakes for the kids. I didn’t want her to go, and I started screaming. I wanted her to stay or at least take me home. Ms. Moody decided it was appropriate to tell me as a 5 or 6 year old kid that if I didn’t shut my mouth, my mom would never come back. I think that had to have been the most frightening thing I heard from anyone’s mouth. It was a gut wrenching feeling that almost made me feel like the world was spiraling out of control.

I thankfully got pulled out of that class after the teacher next door noticed I was making my own Clifford books in the other room. She was a wonderful teacher that really brought me out of whatever hell I was put in. Anyways, the reason I was put in special ed was because I couldn’t touch my nose and hop on one foot. I could touch my nose and hop on two feet. That’s why the school system decided I had a learning disability and put me in special ed.

I will say this, I didn’t mind being around the kids in that class. They were all great! It was the teacher’s frustration towards us that made me want to escape. I don’t know how many more kids she beat, threatened, or degraded, but I really do hope someone stopped her madness. 

I bring up these stories because I feel like the school system is no longer a safe place. It has turned into a prison. You have a few good teachers, but the bad ones are everywhere now. Are we turning into a less compassionate society? Is it every man for himself now? I wonder sometimes how these people sleep at night. These are CHILDREN! 

Sorry for the long post. Schools are starting to turn into politics and before long, children aren’t going to be playing with toys and going outside, (Which has already happened) They’re going to be worrying about money, suffering from depression, and getting into trouble at a very young age. It has already happened around everyone. Hopefully our prison system won’t turn to more than half the country because of the ones teaching us as children.

4 thoughts on “The Secrets in the Classrooms

  1. Interesting and relevant, though bad teaching doesn’t just victimize children. I teach adults and much of the clientele (sorry – translated from French) is people who failed in the regular system but after a few years in the dreary hell of a production shop have decided to go back and try to get their high school diplomas and move on from there. They are motivated. The are also very fragile because the moment they sense that the teacher doesn’t care a damn they give up and thus becomes their worldview. Teachers are guides and if they don’t know the best path to show then they should get out of the way. What Stalag did you attend, by the way???

    Like

Leave a Reply

