Innocent Sin

lonely-train-road-other-1024x1280

We lay here waiting for the train to come
But there is no track in the distance.
Your voice is so sweet underneath this dome
But there is no echo as I listen.
I touch my lips against your lips to go home
But there is no tension to resist this.

This heart attack swells within my chest
As it beats from your clenching fists
The festering pain keeps me from listening
But I still know you’re holding me by a string.
I know that we are both innocent
But this sin still rests within our veins.

The warm outline of you in the sheets rests in bed
But there is no body to hold in my arms.
Your perfume still lingers around my head
But the smell makes my mind feel alarmed.
I imagine us in the water still in a tread
But somewhere you are still charmed.

This heart attack wells within my chest
As it beats from your clenching fists
The pestering pain keeps me from listening
But I still know you’re holding me by a string
I know that we are both innocent
But this sin still rests within our veins.

Leave a Reply

