Is It Expensive, or Are We Poor?

Greed

I was sitting at home today thinking about all the materialistic things that I have in my house right now. Many questions kept popping in my head and nothing seemed to make sense in my own mind. Seriously, why the hell did I buy this crap?! Apparently when I was an assistant manager I didn’t think about where my money was going. I’ve even had some friends tell me not to overspend and be careful with the newly acquired income I was receiving. Like damn, I went bookoo crazy! 

I stepped down from my job as an assistant because I was losing a lot of my personality. I was angry every day, unhappy, and the upper management made me feel like I was a shit stain they needed to clean up. It got to a point where suicide seemed like the only option to escape the place. I was frightened and scared what I might lose when I left my position. I was even more worried what might happen with my relationship with Nadine. I will be the first to say that sometimes it gets really rough financially, and it is very scary. I was never honest with myself though when I was working as an assistant. It was almost like I wanted to play this role as a celebrity when actually I was just rotting in some shit hole environment that was barely getting me by each day. I think the reason I bought a lot of the stuff I have now and ran my credit cards through the roof was because I wanted to try to create this environment at home that could take me away from that place I was in at work. I’m sure people may not understand the reasoning behind some of my actions, but in my head, they do make since.

I know I had a few friends say I was crazy for letting a job like that go but to be honest, working 60 hours a week for someone else and only making a very small percentage of the cake felt like I was being taken advantage of. My pay would decrease after 40 hours, it would decrease again after 50, and then decrease again after 60. I don’t mean a few bucks here and there, I mean half of my hourly pay, if you took it down to the numbers. I don’t think I’m the kind of person that is truly a money person. Yes, I want to have enough money to do what I want to do: write, travel, and enjoy life, but it feels like money has brought everybody around me as well as myself down. 

corporations-are-people-JPEG

We are so consumed by the new technology and new toys that hit the market that we are willing to spend hundreds of thousands of dollars on brand names, when we can simply buy something cheaper that is the exact same product. I know yesterday I went shopping for shirts, I saw all these Marc Anthony shirts for 24.99. I look right next to it. There was a brand called APT, where you got 2 shirts for 18.99. These shirts were the exact same material and design as Marc Anthony. So, why would anyone pay more for less? Well, the name I guess. Why are we so consumed in impressing the next person that enters our home or sees us walking down the street? Have we come to that point in our everyday life that we have to out buy our neighbors just to satisfy our own egos?

the_joneses_940x529

I watched a movie recently called The Joneses, but it had the perfect concept about this. A family moves into a neighborhood full of rich people. This family had a mom, dad, son, and daughter. Your typical American family. Well, they had all the brand name products across the board. We’re talking appliances, decor, perfumes, clothing, video games, and cars. The crazy part was the family was just a way for businesses to sell their products. These people got pulled from their normal jobs and families to take part in this to sell products and pretend to be a family. It was the craziest thing! The neighbors fell for it and bought everything these people didn’t spend a cent on. 

So what does this tell us about where we are going as a nation? I think right now we’re stuck in limbo with the bullshit that’s going on in politics as well as the corporate world that is just trying to grab every cent from our pockets. Where is our money really going when we buy these products though? Are they going to ethical business practices, or another environmental disaster waiting to happen? We are creating our own demise by giving in to the corporate lies that we see on television, hear on the radio, and read in magazines. I know I was a sucker for it for a long time, bought the nice car, the nice flat screen televisions, the surround sound system, and many more things. I don’t know why i felt the need to buy these things, but now, I wonder why I didn’t think it through before I just threw my credit cards and money willingly to these people.

It’s in human nature for us to want, but is it really what we need? Someone told me the other day are prices expensive, or are we just getting poorer? Honestly, who knows what the answer to that is, but I’m willing to bet, we’re getting poorer due to the government and corporations strangling us with their greedy fists. What do we do now to save ourselves?

5 thoughts on “Is It Expensive, or Are We Poor?

  1. Run to Jost Van Dyke and sell quilts to the yachtsmen! Just kidding (halfway)…But your post is so true. We live in a society that puts such relevance on ‘stuff’ – I work with someone who google earths the appearance of any new employee’s resident – and this person is a department head and uses her influence to either let a person into her circle or keep them out. Which is basically how the world at large does as well – the clothes we wear, the car we drive, the house we live in. Just one more example of how wide the gulf is becoming between common sense and reality. Part of the extreme but well disguised sadness of this world. To me, it all comes down to one thing in the end….God. If our thoughts are with God, we not out chasing the Jones – not because we suddenly don’t want ‘things’ – but those ‘things’ are not the priorities of our lives.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yeah unfortunately I still work for the company I was an assistant at. I dropped to part time just so I could bring in a little income till I find something else. I feel like I have no soul when I walk into that place though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

