Working Yourself to Death

I  haven’t had too much time these last few days to get on here, so I’m going to stick a post in this morning. I’ve been overloaded with work, so I’ve been having to spend a lot of time with fruits and vegetables lately as well as trying to dig deep into writing Eversoul. Saturday one of the guys at work had a stroke, so I’m filling his shifts till Friday, which I beg to ask the question, why do people continue to work after 80 years old. I mean, I understand some people will work 20 hours a week just so that they can keep their retirement, or stay busy. This guy was working 40 hours a week lifting case that were between 40-50 pounds. You would think there is a point in your life, where you can enjoy the rest of your days with family and not have to bust your butt till you land in your death bed. I sometimes even wonder why we expect so much from these people when they are too fragile to even walk. This is probably the second reason why i stepped down from my position at my job. I don’t want this job to be the last thing I do before I die. I want to be able to either make a difference in this world, or create something that will inspire and innovate the people around me. I know there are reasons that people do what they do daily, but shouldn’t your health and family be the first priority no matter what?

2 thoughts on “Working Yourself to Death

  1. I think you may be under the assumption that he could quit if he wanted to. Otherwise you wouldn’t be wondering so hard why he doesn’t. And maybe he can. But have you never known of a person who was actually poor? Who had to keep their job because they need – as in NEED – it? Maybe he has no choice.

    Like

  2. I’m not saying that he should quit. What I was trying to point out which I failed to address in my post, sorry about that, is that we need better retirement plans and our government needs to get it through their thick skulls that people at 84 need better retirement options so they’re not working 40 hours a week like my co-worker. Now, I went down to part time because I had other goals in life. I understand that there are people who have to work but they shouldn’t be 84 and busting their ass like this guy. He deserves better than that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

