A Walk to Remember

Last night I was home alone just going through some channels, and I ran into A Walk to Remember. I started watching it because I remember watching it way back in high school when I was trying to catch a date with this one girl. Well, that obviously didn’t work out at the time. Actually, it was a train wreck, but anyways, I was watching this movie, and I’ve realized that this movie had a lot more to offer than just a love story. It was almost like those revelations in life where you realize, “Wow! Why didn’t I see that before?” 

What I realized through this movie was that you will go through many trials in life, and sometimes they are not always good. Sometimes you need someone to guide you back to where you want to be in the future. Like is it possible to say that Nadine fell into my life at the right moment four years ago? I started really pondering this and it really hit me when I started to realize what has happened the last four years since I met her.

Nadine moved here in May of 2010. She was forced to leave New York for reasons that are private. I was in a band at the time and performed around Georgia, trying to scrape by with a few bucks here and there each week. I was still living with my parents, and I had no ambitions on trying to get a degree at the time because I just honestly did not know what I wanted to do with my life. I was jumping from one girl to the next for about two years before I met Nadine because my ex had really jabbed a dagger through my heart. It was tough for a long time.

I remember sitting in the basement of my drummer’s mom’s house, and we were trying to come up with some beats. We went upstairs and played some video games for awhile after we failed to really accomplish anything. Then, my guitarist called us up and told us we should go down to this pizzeria and have a bite to eat with him, maybe play a mini acoustic set while we were in the area. At first, I was a bit put off by the suggestion, but I knew I really needed to get out. My drummer finally convinced me and we hit the road to the other side of town. When we got to the pizzeria, I discovered one of our fans was there with her cousin. Her cousin being Nadine. I really was into her even though we hardly talked at first, but we really hit it off once we moved passed the umms and buts. I learned a lot about what her life was like before she moved down here, and I talked about mine as well. The thing that really made me happy was we both had the same aspirations and goals in life.

Over the years, we have really stuck together through everything, whether it be financial troubles or family problems. There hasn’t been one moment where we have fallen into the trap of our friends trying to pull us apart, or we’re too stressed out about affording to live the lifestyle we have. Yes, we are not the perfect couple, but this is the closest feeling to perfect I’ve had in a long time. I now have pulled all of my own weight towards my own home, my own car, a job, and my writing. I have been keeping it together the best I can for the last four years because Nadine fell into my life at the right time. I no longer play in a band, I’m not obsessed with fame or fortune anymore. It’s like life has become more harmonious.

I think we all have people in our lives whether they are boyfriends/girlfriends, friends, or long lost family members. There is always a reason someone comes into your life. It could be to bring your family closer together, or to realize the people that are using you and making you weaker. It doesn’t matter if it’s a dog, or a fish, there is a reason you brought that person closer to you, or animal. Is it because we all have that kind of energy that brings us closer together, is there a mighty spirit that uses us like characters in a book, or do we simply just run into each other out of randomness? Either way, I think we all have at least one reason to keep someone in our lives to make us the person we are today. If so, always cherish that and thank them for being there for you today.

Leave a Reply

