Review: I’m Okay, You’re Not by Kim Mullican

Title: I’m Okay, You’re Not

Author: Kim Mullican

Genre: Mystery/Suspense/Thriller

 

3-book-cover-copy

Book Description:

Abby Remington has been locked up in a mental institution twice for suicide attempts she doesn’t recall. She’s not allowed to see her only surviving blood relative, her little sister Rachael. While she’s been deemed incompetent, her step-siblings, Cam and Brit, pilfer her fortune and keep her prisoner.

A doctor, who believes her delusions and hallucinations may be real, helps free Abby and Rachael from the clutches of their devious step-family. There’s a price to pay for freedom as the Abby and her little sister soon discover when Cam and Brit kidnap Rachael and sell her off to a mobster.

Abby discovers the true nature of her suicide attempts. She has to do everything she can to save Rachael, her own sanity and their fortunes from the clutches of their malevolent step-siblings. Help comes from an unlikely ally, but will it come in time?

How I Came Across This Novel:

Kim Mullican is actually an author that I follow on my blog. She had posted something the other day about delaying the release of one of her novels, and I was intrigued to check out one of her books. I went with the one that interested me the most first because if I like the book that’s the most interesting to me, then more than likely I’m going to check out the rest that maybe interesting but haven’t caught my interest just yet.

What I Didn’t Like About It:

I thought that a decent amount of the novel was focused a lot on money. Every chapter seems to fall under something about money which is fine, but it seemed to be the main focus. Every time some unusual event would happen it would always generate large and outrageous sums of money that has an unrealistic feel to it. 

I did have an issue with a scene where Abby was humiliating her step-sibling, Brit, at the club. I just don’t understand why Abby would feel this is necessary. Also, I think it would’ve been even better if Abby didn’t reveal herself at the club and just let Brit go home with this broke guy. Now that would’ve been hilarious to have dialogue about that with Abby and Brit in a different chapter.

Also, in the first chapter there were a few errors that made it a little distracting near the end of the chapter. I let it go and didn’t think any of it because that’s nothing that bothers me too much, but I found multiple typos as I got to the middle and conclusion of the novel that really started distracting me because I had to guess what words this author was using to form the sentences.

What I Liked About It:

By far, this book has been one of the best books I’ve read this year. I literally read it within a day. (I had to do it in two sittings because of some errands I had to run.) The first chapter really grabbed me when it started off inside of the mental institution. I find this intriguing because many questions pop in my head about why Abby Remington is in a mental institution.

The author did a great job with really making me hate the antagonists in this novel. It was almost like I was living inside the shoes of Abby throughout the novel, and I loved that feeling! I especially enjoyed the struggles she faced with trying to protect her little sister, then finding out some of the bombshell discoveries about her step-siblings really made me hunger to know more about the life Abby’s sister, Rachael,  lived through. I wish I could have read more about the lifestyle that Rachael lived through because I think this would’ve played a huge role in the character development. 

I really enjoyed learning about Bob. At first, I was questioning myself about who he was. It was actually pretty interesting to see all of these ghosts helping Abby throughout the book. This whole book makes me wonder if all of us have ghosts that protect us from danger. It was very thought provoking and I will definitely be reading another novel by Kim.

My Verdict: 4 Stars

I would have given this book five stars, but the distractions from the typos really made it difficult to stay focused on the key scenes that made this novel an amazing read.

 

 

Leave a Reply

