What’s on Will’s Mind?

I have had a few people ask me this recently, as well as, myself. If you read my blog and my entries, I write about a variety of random ass things and sometimes even I get overwhelmed by my own thoughts. Right now, I’m thinking about how badly I want to finish this cup of coffee, so I can stay awake for the day. Plus, my back is a little sore from working all night.

Yesterday, I was reading through a few rejection letters I had received. Many of them were written in a manner to be nice about the rejection, but no one ever takes a rejection nicely. I understand that for some agencies and publishers they want to pick the best pieces for the particular genre they are marketing, but sometimes it seems like they forget to update their own criteria when it comes to genre selection.

I remember a few months back I had sent my query letter and proposal to an agency, and they specifically asked for mystery, science fiction, romance, and action adventure. In my mind, I felt like my book fit every criteria these guys were looking for. Then, the rejection letter came and shockingly it said that they were not considering science fiction. So in my mind, I thought, what the hell? Why did you have my genre listed then on your website?

Anyways, that’s what’s been on my mind the last 24 hours. Also, I wanted to let everyone know that you should do what you love, no matter what criticism is thrown at you. It’s all just a matter of perspective cause honestly I never thought anyone would be interested in my ramblings on a blog.

One thought on “What’s on Will’s Mind?

Leave a Reply

