To Mom and Dad

I don’t say this enough to my parents, and I probably look like an ungrateful son for not. Thank you. Thank you for everything you have done from raising me to being here whenever I needed a ear to ramble to, or a shoulder to cry on. The last few days I thought a lot about things that have happened in the last year that scare me to utter death like someone calling my job to tell me my dad’s heart has stopped and he’s in the hospital, but really it was a hoax from a sick son-of-a-bitch. That isn’t the point though, it scares me to death to think that one day I will be alone on this earth. I will not have someone to dial and talk to about personal things. I will not have someone there to help me when I’m having tough luck in life. Honestly, I don’t know how my parents do it sometimes.

All the secrets and events that I have shared with my mom and dad are what make me who I am today. They spoiled me as a child, but I do appreciate all of the places we went to and the unique things I got to experience. If it didn’t happen then, I may not have experienced them now. It’s funny how they prepared my sister and I for everything ahead. They sacrificed time and money to give us the life they may have wanted as a child. From what I know, like anyone else, they both had struggles in life that they faced. Somehow they both overcame them and raised my sister and I very well. Honestly, I beat myself up so much just to be able experience the life they had again. I wish I had the work ethic and strength my dad had. I wish I had the talent and charisma my mom has, but I have never really been as successful as them two.

It’s funny though. No matter how many times I fall, they always are there to try and bring me back on my feet. They always seem to know how to turn my wheels or press my buttons to get my ass back in gear… even if it’s something I don’t want to hear. I hope that one day I will have something to be proud of like they did. They owned a moving company and traveled to many exotic places. It seems like just yesterday that I was on a beach with them belly surfing on the waves with my dad, or hearing my mom scream from the stands to “Hit that ball, Will!” or “Strike him out!”

I know my dad threw baseball’s with me and helped me practice. My mom always was the moral support that wanted to make me better. They have both contributed to molding me into the person I am today. I will admit that I still have my rough edges, but it is all just part of that journey. I love you, mom and dad! No matter how stubborn I am with certain subjects or sarcastic I am, I will always love both of you.

3 thoughts on “To Mom and Dad

Leave a Reply

