Social Media

Okay, so I’m trying this “social experiment” so to speak and I’m seeing a pattern. Do people really care about other author’s on sites like Twitter and Facebook? I recently started following people on Twitter to see their responses. It’s funny how many return with thank you for the follow and can’t wait for great conversation. Then you have a ton that send you links to their books and services. So how real is social media?

So far, blogging has been the closest to author and human interaction I could find on social media. It almost feels like facebook and Twitter are now just a giant internet billboard where people just drive by. Occasionally that one person goes oh wow, I’m going to check this out. Then, you have the ones calling the billboard trying to press their ads on people. Has greed of attention overcome us? Even as I write this post, am I like those attention seeking people begging for likes and comments? What perspective do you guys have of this cause it seems all pointless, right?

22 thoughts on “Social Media

  1. Yeah I’m not a big fan of Facebook or Twitter, actually I think my twitter is collecting dust. I don’t know, I just find it’s awkward to use, probably because I’m an introvert. I’ve just stuck my toes into the vast ocean of blogging and I’m more comfortable with it for some reason. Maybe because I have my own little plot of internet and I can do whatever I want with it, maybe because I like exploring other people’s expression of their thoughts and feelings on their own little plot of internet as well. Could be because I like rambling about nonsense for long periods of time and there’s a word count on twitter. As for Facebook nobody cares about what you have to say, they just want to see pictures or get likes for their stuff. But let’s be honest, everything involving the internet has some part of seeking attention because that is the currency of the web, views. You got views, you’re rich with fans and content, you don’t got views? You gotta try to get da views. That’s how the internet works, in a nutshell. Throw in some cats and pointless arguments and you’re all set for an amazing experience that will drain your life faster than a starved vampire. That’s my two cents anyway.

    Like

    • You took the words right out of my mouth. Totally agree with what you said. Now, blogging I enjoy reading people’s posts cause they’re meaningful, in-depth, and have value. Maybe I should find a grumpy monkey and post it on fb. Thanks for dropping in.

      Like

  2. The timing of this post, for me, is ‘interesting’. I treat my social media interactions as a bit of an experiment also. And mostly I agree with the last sentence of your post; “pointless, right?”.

    In fact, right now I’m going through one of my ‘why am I bothering with this?’ phases. But I know that in a few days or weeks my perception will change as there will be some positive interaction that makes me feel better about the whole thing.

    I note your Twitter account is at the primary filtering point – you can’t follow any more accounts because of the dreaded ‘2000 following limit’. Your experiment will likely get interesting if and when you decide to shed some of your non-reciprocators.

    To respond more directly to your question “how real is social media?”; the answer, from my perspective, is, ‘not very real at all’. In Twitter terms, most people are very hesitant to click on external links; they live in Twitter, and only in Twitter. Very few of the hits at my blog come directly from post promotions on Twitter. And most of the so-called ‘worthwhile’ accounts on there are people who would rather be heard than listen to anyone else. What should be a great two-way communication medium also makes an excellent megaphone for accounts with far more followers than accounts they are following. That’s one element of Twitter that I find quite frustrating.

    Blogging in the WordPress environment has given me much more in terms of ‘real’ interaction with other users.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I hit that 2000 mark pretty quick and I almost find most of the replies annoying and uninteresting. I reply to the ones that bring up something about me, or I’ll reach out to the ones who seem interesting. I just find the constant serVices and links to books annoying.
      I do read people’s books on here if I see they have a book out.but honestly, it’s hard to read through some. I read through ten pages and then shut it if there’s too many errors or just sounds weird. Anyways, I just want to talk to people and not just have books rammed in my face. If I’m interested in what you talk to me at the first convo or meet I’ll ask or go to you’re link. That’s just me though. Glad someone else is there with me.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This is mostly driven because people are trying to be successful at what they are doing. Especially for writers this is important. Self published authors need it for sale, and many times authors need a following in order to be published. It’s a tough world.

    Like

    • Question? Why do we write then? Do we write cause we love it or because we want to be the next BIG thing? Do people still write messages in their writing, or do they follow what’s popular for the money?

      Liked by 1 person

      • I do it for the love of writing. It would be icing to be big, but that is never the goal. Doing the best I can and doing it will is what matters.

        There’s plenty of lessons in my novels, I try to put a much meaning into what I do as I can. But I can’t say the same for others.

        That said, there are a few little things I will do to try to expand my network, but I don’t spam people. I strive for quality relationships. So far, it seems to be working.

        Like

  4. I’ve developed a large, international network of writers and artists on FB, people whose work I truly value and who also follow my own. Moreover, over the years I’ve developed friendships, as well, with folks who cared when my husband died, even raised money for funeral expenses, and continued to offer me support long after. As well, I’ve been published in several magazines and anthologies discovered or recommended by colleagues on FB, and one of my books was released by a publisher who knew me through FB. Likewise, two forthcoming books are from publishers I know through FB. Meanwhile, here on my blog, I rarely am read, even less often receive comments, and only one poet shares my posts. So I guess the effectiveness varies from person to person, as suggested above. Twitter is new and uncomfortable to me, but I’ve been published twice through publishers encountered through Twitter, and extended my network of writers and artists.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I think Facebook can be useful because it is like mini-blogging. It’s inherently interactive on a communal level. Twitter is more about two people having a conversation, and it’s hard for others to join in. Twitter is mostly just about building reach, but I agree with you – most of that reach is really synthetic. Blogging, and probably Facebook too, are much better ways of building real connections with people. I only follow people on Facebook who I actually care about, whereas my Twitter follows are more generous.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Aether, you’re like the only person other than two others that I agree with. You told me about what your use for them are without bragging or throwing achievements out about how.many thousands of people got to your page or the connections you found to get published through social media. I appreciate that answer.

      Real connections are through Facebook and blogging. Everything else is pretty much synthetic. I think for more I want to build relationships not have fake ones that have dead ends. Thanks for the comment.

      Like

      • No prob! Believe me, I have the same frustration with Twitter. If someone follows me and they have 10K followers….but they’re following 20K? I don’t even bother. They’re obviously just collecting artificial reach. Which, eh, might be good if you’re trying to do a Kickstarter or something. And I definitely know that building an audience is essential for self-published authors. But if/when I go indie, I’ll probably rely more on blogging and Facebook. Actually interacting with fans and other authors is the most interesting part of social media!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Personally, I find Facebook a nuisance. You find all kinds of people there and many know nothing about the work we want them to actually see. I had a photography page over there and no one cares. People just care about nonsense stuff on Facebook. I find it useless for authors. Blogging is the way to go for authors. Like e.g Flickr is for photographers. Facebook is for people seeking to pass their time. As for twitter, I don’t have much insight on that regarding authors. But I guess you won’t find the suitable audience over their either.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thanks for this post. The comments are really sobering! I just started trying to promote my work on Twitter and FB and I’ve started to come to the same conclusions. 1700 followers came awfully quick, and I still just feel like I’m shouting into an echo chamber. (Although as a new blogger, blogging still feels that way too!) On the other hand, I suspect there must be some value to the idea of Twitter as a pure numbers game, i.e. out of every 100 followers, a certain percentage (small, maybe, but real) will follow you back to your blog or your project. I mean, people do it for some reason, right? I don’t know, maybe it’s just some sort of mass hysteria.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I’ve been promoting my work for the last year but twitter is a dud. If you want numbers, try there but no one really listens. Fb is better cause your closer friends, family, and associates are there to support you. Then, blogging has actually been an awesome tool for me so far. I’ve sold a few copies of my book here and met great people. The key is, you have to care about other’s work to get any feedback on your on work. You’ll find it’s very enlightening to follow other people’s journeys in writing and meet people that can help you. Thanks for the add by the way. I’ll swing by your blog.

      Like

  8. Hi there. I just moved around your blog (actually about your history of writing), and I really like the way you write. I am still learning and striving to improve. So, to answer your inquire about social media. I have mixed feelings and I am constantly fighting with the nagging feeling of being exposed on Facebook. I almost gave up for quite awhile to post anything on facebook. It is good as I can connect with my friends and family back home, as I use the chat. But to be honest, yeah, you are right – it is to seek attention. Most of the time, people put there only the things that they want other to see in them, including me. In contrast, blogging (I am very new to blogging, and this are my impressions so far) is very personal and you can freely express experiences, your feelings,you opinions, reviews, what bothers you, etc. That is why I found myself spending less on facebook, but more here with blogging.

    Thank you for following me. I am looking forward for your posts.
    AND HAPPY BLOGGING.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I know last year I was very personal with my blog cause I was going through a dark period in my life. I shut out everyone around but I kept my social circle open on here to find a to put my wheels back on the track. Blogging has been one of the networks I enjoy because you don’t know who is feeling the same way.
      Facebook is just attention seeking. A lot of dumb and immature posts. Other than communicating with family and friends, that’s the only time I use Facebook. Twitter haha that little monster is like georgia weather. Great one day, boring the next. So blogging is great because you will always have something interesting to offer! Keep up the good work!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you William. I am glad that you are over the dark clouds now, and that blogging helped you to overcome the difficulties. Haha, I like your comment about Twitter and the Georgian weather. Is it more horrible than the English weather? This was on the funny side.
        About Twitter – I am following a lot of academics there so I can be updated with new researches and publications, and what is going on around the academic world. But, to be honest, I am aware that having Twitter is a way to subject myself to a lot of negative stuff as well. Instead, opt for checking it once or twice a week.
        And you too, keep up with your writing and keep us busy reading. Have a good, and hopefully sunny Georgian weekend!

        Liked by 1 person

  9. That is exactly what I have been thinking for some time now. I love connecting to people and especially bloggers because they truly connect to each other. Alot of us have written books and wish to sell them, but the feeling of putting your thoughts out there and people actually reading and commenting what your writing is most rewarding. Thanks for your time.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Speedy and I do use FaceBook but that is my page to keep in touch with friends and Family that are dotted all over the world and one for Speedy for his blog posts He has a few followers that follow his blog there that wouldn’t normally know him,I think Pet blogging works slightly differently on FB than other types of blogging,we both thank you for the follow,xx Speedy and Mum

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

