A New Direction

I’ve been fascinated with writing stories in fantasy fiction and science fiction, but I recently fell into a new interest; nonfiction. I’m planning on putting together a few stories about myself, my grandfather, and my dad. I wanted to do three separate books because I think a generational style of a story would be pretty cool to do. Anyways, I’m also interested in finding out more about my grandfather. Plus, my dad is interested in knowing more about his dad as well.

I am currently searching for information about how my grandfather earned his medals in World War 2. I know my dad has told me about my grandfather’s service at Iwo Jima, but it is very vague. I know my family has letters that he sent my grandmother throughout his service, and my aunt has all of his medals. I know this is going to be a long trek to find the clues and pieces to put this puzzle about his life together. I may have to interview each one of my aunts and uncles to find some of the answers. It’s going to be a long haul, but I would love to put his story together and have an idea of what his life was like. Especially since he died before I was born.

If any of you have any ideas of where I can start with my searches for his Marine Corps records, please send me links. I would greatly appreciate it and so would my family.

I was planning on doing another book about my father and his service in the Army. Like I said, I have vague memories of what my father told me, but I was going to shoot towards his time in the Army up to when he had to leave because of his heart. I think he told me he almost had to be sent to Vietnam, but he had a bad heart. Also, I wanted to try and paint a picture of his life up to creating the idea of his own business, to the rise of his business, and to the sudden fall.

I will be honest I am a little weary of taking on this task only because I wasn’t alive to know who my grandfather was, and I was not old enough to really experience the rise of my dad’s company. I have seen the hard times he is facing right now, but I really want to make this story of three generations be touching. I’m a little worried I may hit some areas where I have clashing stories between different family members. I have no clue how I’m going to do this yet, but I really want to put these three books together in the truest and best of knowledge that everyone has.

Sorry for the rambling tonight. Memorial Day kind of got me thinking a lot about my grandfather’s time in the military, and I think I may have found a calling to tell his story.

5 thoughts on “A New Direction

  1. William, researching the lives of your father and grandfather can be so rewarding, and I wish you the best in your search. Having researched my own family, and the families of friends, I can tell you it is quite an amazing journey. Tips in discovering the details: Old newspapers. There is a possibility that if your grandfather was presented with medals, then his “hometown” would have written about it in the local news. As far as online research goes, there are military records that can be culled for more info. If you need any help, let me know. Genealogy is a strong interest I have had for years.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey thanks! I’m actually trying to find out where his home town is so I can go through some of the papers during that time. Thanks for the advice. I saw my parents pulling reels of film out of the closet to help me with his background and kind of an idea of who he was. I just have to find a cheap projector now lol I’ll message you when I need help.

      Liked by 1 person

      • go to familysearch.org, search his name, and date of birth. You can find census records that will offer up some clues to his home town. The search is free. I am happy to help if you need it. I promise I am just a boring old lady, and pretty much harmless. LOL

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, this sounds like an awesome project. I’ve considered doing a generational nonfiction series as well, as my mother is a genealogy nut and knows stuff about our family going all the way back to the Revolutionary War. I would recommend asking any paternal family members you have left about your grandfather, or maybe trying ancestry.com. There might be some public records about his service on some military websites as well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

