A Villain’s Tale

I was writing the first installment of my series The Temperament Scepter a few weeks ago when I realized one of my characters was time jumping way too much in the first ten chapters. I have been extremely interested in knowing more about this character only because I was viewing the story as a reader. Now that I’m working on this characters story, I’ve come to realize that this book is about him, his family, his upbringings, and his downfall to become the villain he is in the second installment of the series.

Now, I’ve always been intrigued by the villain’s background because every villain has a reason for falling into the darkness. Whether it is because they were abused as a child, bullied by their peers, or they simply just want to change something about the world. It all boils down to why is this person acting like this?

Always remember to create a lovable villain. If their is a reason for their madness, then some readers will relate to them and want to know who will fare at the end of the novel.

4 thoughts on “A Villain’s Tale

  1. The most likable villains are the sympathetic ones, and the scariest villains are those we see parts of ourselves in. I especially love stories where the villain really is the main character (like in Star Wars!) and ultimately, the entire story is really about them, not so much the protagonist.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

