Day Job to Writing Part 2.1 (Eliptica)

This is a follow up post to the original post “Day Job to Writing“. In the previous post, I went through my outlining process, where I developed maps, characters, feuds, plot time lines, and schedules for myself. In these next few post, I want to go over the maps and world I am currently creating, which will hopefully help you guys put together your worlds in a more creative and sense filled manner.

Eliptica

Eliptica is the main world that I had originally started writing about. This island was supposed to start out the “Temperament Scepter Series”, but it was missing something when I reached the end of it. Anyways, I’ll get back to that later when I go over the characters in my series.

When I created Eliptica, I used three different senses to create each castle and village across it. I used the sense of smell, touch, and sight to understand the environments that I wanted to portray in each region/territory. For instance, think of your own country, or state (If you’re in the US.) The further north you travel, the environment is cooler and the air is usually thinner. Sometimes if it’s near a major city it could change different senses, but that’s why using examples in your head helps to understand the environments. Sometimes authors will actually have to travel to get the first hand experience so they can describe everything in their own senses.

Urealia

Let’s go back to Eliptica. I’m going to start with the southeast, where Urealia is located. This kingdom is actually the slums of Eliptica. It sits high on the edge of a climb over the ocean, where you can smell the salt in the air and hear the seagulls cry over the city. The walls of the city are just logs connected together by nails and wood. The streets are muddy because of the constant rains and the lack of care by the king. Now, if you are creating a poor city, you have to remember to add the reasoning behind it, whether it’s from tragedies, greed, or environmental reasons. In Urealia, I used a greedy fat king that wants nothing else than to steal money from his own people. Anyone else ever feel this way with the leaders today?

Farmlands Outside Urealia

Now, outside Urealia is the plains, where my main character and her family are from. This is where there are farmlands and plains all the way to Olmstead Castle, which is about two hours travel from Urealia. I put this together remembering the first week I was in Europe. I was in London and looking down from the plane window I saw all the green fields below in small square blocks. At least, that was from my view. When I saw this, it was the most spectacular sight I had seen. It actually inspired me to add this into Eliptica and to actually start writing Fantasy Fiction.

I enjoy writing about the land outside of castles better because they are the places your characters have their adventures. Yes, I like inside the castles too, but new worlds and creating them are the best feeling. It’s like discovering an alien world that you wish you could see because it’s the place that makes sense to you.

Port Amnalon

Port Amnalon was created as a place for Eliptica to export goods to other lands across the oceans and seas. Eventually, the Urealian King seized this area because Wolf Bloods from Four Points Chain were being smuggled into the region from here. The vision I had for this port was close to Port Jefferson on Long Island, and a little history from Key West, Florida with pirates. I wanted to put together a place that was small and beautiful, but the buildings and docks were dank and beat up from sea salt.

The environment is a little cooler with the breeze, but Eliptica is located closer to the “equator” so some of the places aren’t too hot or too cold. All of the territories are fairly mild and cool. More and less in some parts.

Legula

I wanted Legula to be a castle sitting against the walls of mountains near a bay. It had to have the beauty and mystical touch of an elvish kingdom, but it still needed to have that touch of man. I remember putting together a few of the castles in my head when I was in Austria. There was one castle that rested all alone in the middle of the bay that inspired me to create Legula. I can’t remember the name, but it was like walking into a fairy tale and living with the mythical beings that wander in our imagination. The air was cool and thin. It almost felt like I could breathe better. The view was like a portrait from inside the towers of the castle. The snow caps over the mountains and the gap that led out of the bay. All of the senses made my trip feel magical.

These are the castles and ports on the eastern side of Eliptica. All of them have access to water to import and export goods to each other, but greed has caused this end to live in poverty for the people. For now, this is Eliptics and in the next post, it will be about the Mid to Western side of Eliptica, where sorcerer villages, enchanted castles, and rugged mountain terrain collide to create the fantasy of my world.

3 thoughts on “Day Job to Writing Part 2.1 (Eliptica)

    • Yeah, I know some of these places I had to think of where I had been in the past. Like even some stuff is still a little hazy but pictures have helped me. My trip to Europe though, even though it was for music, was an experience that gave me the tools to create this world. Thanks Erika for your kind words!

      Like

  1. I love world-building. You have some wonderful representations of your world. The look of exotic buildings, the sight of a flowering tree, or looking down from an airplane has sparked many an imaginary locale for me. By the way, thank you for visiting penpanther.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

