What Inspires Me to Write

snow-avalanche

This question has been popping up a lot lately while I’ve been at work and with friends. I can’t really pinpoint the main inspirations in my life because a lot of it has to do with things like dreams, movies, video games, family, and romantic interests that I’ve spectated through friends or other people. When I wrote Horizon, I originally wrote it because of someone that pulled me out of the wreckage of whatever destruction I had done to myself in the past. It was more therapeutic at the time than a science fiction novel about aliens and government conspiracies. I spent almost four years writing it because I was keeping tabs on events in the the world today, whether true or false.

Now, I pretty much write whatever messed up things enter my mind. It isn’t because I want to satisfy someone else that may be reading my novel. It’s more of for myself, and if I grow a following because of it then awesome. I’ve skimmed through success stories and fall outs across wordpress and social media, and what I got from reading through different ideas and experiences is that I am no better than anyone else. No one else is any better than me. Yes, we see photos of laughter and joy. We see Facebook statuses that continuously beg for attention. Beg for likes and shares. Have we come to the point in our society where a like and share is worth more than money? In my opinion, yes.

I remember a few weeks ago i posted something on social media, and received maybe twenty or thirty likes from friends, family, and bloggers. It was nice to see people actually interested in something that I felt strongly about but shied away from it because I didn’t want to be part of discussion bigger than myself. For instance, racism and politics. Those two subjects I avoid at all cost only because what is the point? Arguing with someone about two ideas that both parties feel strongly about is not going to change anything. It is not going to make anything better and if anything, it will cause anarchy.

If you want to change something, then show love and compassion to others. There are some messed up things going on in the world today and all we care about is a damn flag and a law. Inspiration comes from moments like these. It’s what makes all of us different in our own ways. Also, the end of the world and the apocalypse. Why the hell are people so fascinated by these? I think for the last eighteen or twenty years of my short life I have had to watch, listen, and read about the end of the world. When will someone make a story where it’s not just about the end of the world. Why can’t we think of something where the antagonist is actually the one that is the protagonist?

Think about it, what if your character was a villain and overtook the main character who was supposed to be good? If Darth Vader succeeded with his plans to overthrow the Jedi, what would the next three movie be about? We look at the darkness as a bad and scary place to go to, but what if it is actually the light? What if the light was bad? Is it possible that we think that good comes where light is and shadows are just a place for demons and the dead?

The book I’m currently writing is kind of running along this subject. A man thinks he is bad and evil because of his lineage. He is lead in the direction of that path his father took before him, but instead of standing by the good, he realized evil was actually good. The society he was raised it brain washed him and turned him into them. Crazy thoughts come up all the time in my brain.

I just wish something new will go through Hollywood also. Like seriously, all that comes out of Hollywood is crap and visual vomit. How many Star Wars movies do we have to make before people decide not to go to the theaters anymore because it is not what they envisioned it to be? How any Jurassic Park movies will be created because a bunch of banks and studies want to steal millions from everyone again? How many times does peter Jackson have to continue to butcher certain parts of Tolkiens stories to make people fed up with his vision of Middle-Earth? Don’t get me wrong, I think he did a phenomenal job, but his endings just come too short to satisfy my thirst for the world of elves, hobbits, dwarfs, orcs, and men.

We’ve actually crossed that threshold where reboots are constantly being made within a ten year period. I mean, it’s freaking ridiculous! Why do I need to watch the same crap I hated ten year ago again with a different director and writer but it ends up to be crappier than the last one I watched? Why do I do it? That’s a fantastic question. I guess because I’ve been brainwashed by previews and plug ins to think that it’ll be better. For instance, you watch a commercial and see all the funny and epic parts of the movie. You go see the movie and THOSE-ARE-THE-ONLY-GOOD-PARTS-OF-THE-MOVIE!

So what inspires me to write? My inspiration is what I would enjoy and hopefully my reader. I don’t want to make a remake. I don’t want to write another Lord of the Rings or Star Wars. I want to write my own brand and hope that it inspires a writer to try and create something on their own. Although, it is hard to create something brand new because we all are inspired by our favorite authors or artists. That’s why taking risks and writing for yourself is that best thing you can do for your writing. Change the mainstream ideas to something different. yes, you may get ridiculed for what you did, but you could get a lot of praise for it as well. That’s why it’s called fiction. Anything can happen in these worlds in our head. Nothing is set in stone. Not even a vampire and wolf background. They have their main ideas, but changing them up could bring interest from masses.

A story is anything you want it to be. Don’t let anyone tell you no because who is to say that Ariel was actually Jaws….

6 thoughts on “What Inspires Me to Write

    • Yeah, I think I watch two movies in theaters a year now and that’s only cause I love Marvel Comics lol thanks for reading. Maybe one day we’ll relive the inspirational days of when Star Wars and Indiana Jones hit theaters. For now, I guess we’ll just have to suffer the same ideas with a tweak

      Liked by 1 person

  1. “I just wish something new will go through Hollywood also.” – I agree completely! That’s why I love Japanese anime. Have you ever watched/read Death Note? The main character is the villain and goes through the murder’s story. It’s fascinating.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow, that anime sounds uh-mazing! I’m going to have to look it up. I think anime and comic books currently are the only creative ideas out there that are new and worth reading now. I will say though, people who write one here are a lot more interesting that Hollywood. Makes me wonder why no one ever plucks names from the blog world and offers us opportunities. Thanks for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

